Expectant

Absent here, missing mind.
Brain fogs abundant as is the rain.
Running amok in puddles of mud,
Awaiting something people call summer.

A bright moon carries me, clarity returning.
Craning my neck to see,
Shielding my ears to better hear
and a taste returns with a week of rest.

A flash of heat keeps me warm until the sun rises,
Exposing the fog of the absent mind of not just me.

14 comments on “Expectant

  1. I love the fog imagines, lapping over into the season and the mind.

  2. billgncs says:

    may the moon shine brilliantly and clearly for you and your tastes be sweet and rich

  3. This is so right. Brilliant imagery I can identify with so easily. Congratulations on a beautiful poem.

    • jelebelle says:

      Thank you thank you! It’s always nice to have feedback. Poetry has always been more of a challenge for me in the writing department but this one flowed so readily. Best to you.

  4. […] Jen has written a poignant ode to one of those persistent side effects of cancer – our old friend chemo-brain. […]

  5. Truly evocative and lovely.

  6. Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful! I can’t write poetry so I am always in such awe of those who can put together such exquisite words. Obviously, this resonates with me on so many levels.

    Hugs and love,
    AnneMarie

    • jelebelle says:

      Thank you AnnMarie for the lovely compliment! Great that it comes from miss foggy herself πŸ˜‰ happy to share and that you enjoyed. Be well.

  7. Beautiful imagery, Jen. Those who haven’t gone through chemo could not relate to these words the way we can. I love it!!

Leave a Reply

