Breast-cancer survivor fights city, wins right to swim in pool topless

Breast-cancer survivor fights city, wins right to swim in pool topless

My lovely friend Jodi has persevered and come out on top just as she should. Seems ridiculous that the Parks Dept. would even worry about spending the energy and time on such a non-issue (in my eyes).  It DOES hurt to wear tight clothing up there.  It took me three months to find a decent bathing suit for Hawaii.  I can’t imagine trying to swim laps in a confining and conventional bathing suit top while trying to regain my body.  Good for you my dear friend. Strength and love and determination. 

5 comments on “Breast-cancer survivor fights city, wins right to swim in pool topless

  1. I always did wonder why it is not OK for a woman with a double mastectomy to run around topless just like her husband does. And he even has nipples.

  2. I’m so excited to read that you KNOW Jodi. We were having a discussion on twitter about this. Kudos to Jodi for standing up and fighting and bigger kudos for saying she didn’t want this to be about her, but rather about ALL. She sounds like a real GEM.

    Hope you had a steady on your feet day….

    xoxox

  3. Yvonne says:

    She has many of us in her corner and ready to support her. Glad to hear she has you as a friend.

  4. Just read about this recently and thought, “wow.” Congratulations to your friend for winning this disagreement.

  5. Jan Baird says:

    When I read this recently, I thought, “Way to go!” I hope she wins in convincing the powers-that-be that she is not an exception, but that all those with double mastectomies can do this. Why not? Thank you for posting on this. xx

Leave a Reply

